Skip to main content

iOS 9 is now available to download for iPhone and iPad

iOS 9 is now available
Audio player loading…

If you're an iPhone or iPad owner, iOS 9 has launched for your device. The update hit as expected right around 10:00 PDT (San Francisco), 13:00 EDT (New York), 18:00 BST (London) and 03.00 AEST (Sydney, Sept 17).

A wide range of devices are eligible for iOS 9 too, with all iPhones from the iPhone 4S upwards, all iPad Minis and every iPad from the iPad 2. And for those of you rocking a 5th generation iPod Touch, then you'll also get some iOS 9 action.

To get iOS 9, head to Settings > General > Software Update on your device.

While iOS 9 is updating on phones and tablets now, the initial launch didn't go smoothly. A number of users (techradar editors included) received a "Software Update Failed" message when they tried to update to iOS 9. The message noted "An error occurred downloading iOS 9." The problem was likely due to the volume of users trying to download iOS 9 at once, backing up Apple's servers. Several users have reported success updating via iTunes on Mac.

Learn all about iOS 9

John McCann

John joined TechRadar a decade ago as Staff Writer for Phones, and over the years has built up a vast knowledge of the tech industry. He's interviewed CEOs of some of the world's biggest tech firms, visited their HQs and has appeared on live TV and radio, including Sky News, BBC News, BBC World News, Al Jazeera, LBC and BBC Radio 4. Originally specializing in phones, tablets and wearables, John is now TechRadar's resident automotive expert, reviewing the latest and greatest EVs and PHEVs on the market. John also looks after the day-to-day running of the site.