New iPad is cheaper, thicker and a bit more powerful

The new iPad has arrived, say bye bye to the iPad Air 2

Say hello to the new iPad.

Not iPad Air. Not iPad Pro. Not even iPad Mini. Just iPad. Apple's latest tablet has touched down, and the new iPad slides in below the firm's iPad Pro duo.

New iPad vs iPad Air 2

Screen: same (9.7-inch Retina)
Storage: same (32GB/128GB)
Colors: same (gray, gold, silver)
Height: same (240mm)
Width: same (169.5mm)
Rear camera: same (8MP)
Front camera: same (1.2MP)
Depth: 7.5mm vs 6.1mm
Weight: 469g/478g vs 437g/444g
Chipset: A9 & M9 vs A8x & M8
Price: $329-$559 vs $399-$629

Available in 32GB and 128GB storage sizes, and with the choice of either Wi-Fi or Wi-Fi and Cellular, the new iPad is the same height and width as the iPad Air 2 that it replaces (240 x 169.5mm), but it's also slightly thicker at 7.5mm (vs 6.1mm).

It's also put on a bit of weight, with the Wi-Fi only model tipping the scales at 469g (1.03 pounds) and the 4G connected option coming in at 478g (1.05 pounds).

Up front there's a 9.7-inch Retina display with a 2048 x 1536 resolution at 264ppi, which matches the iPad Pro 9.7 and iPad Air 2. 

There's not much new in terms of design either, with the new iPad packing a lightning port, home button with Touch ID and three color options: silver, gold and space gray.

Slight speed boost

Under the hood of the new iPad you're looking at an A9 chip (with an embedded M9 coprocessor) – which should give it a slight bump in performance over its predcessor – as well as Wi-Fi, Bluetooth 4.2 and a nanoSIM tray (if you opt for the cellular model).

The new iPad price starts at $329 (£339, AU$469) for the 32GB Wi-Fi-only tablet, and raises all the way up to $559 (£559, AU$799) for the 128GB, Wi-Fi + cellular model.

You'll be able to order your new iPad from 08.01 PT (11.01 ET, 15.01 GMT) on March 24.