The popular chat service announced that, starting today, users of its iOS and Android app will have the option to share their live location with family and friends for a set period of time. Users can also turn off location sharing whenever they choose.(opens in new tab)
Here's how to activate Live Location, as the feature is called: first, open up any chat. Go to the Attach button and select Location. A new option for "Share Live Location" will appear, allowing you to share your location for 15 minutes, 1 hour or 8 hours. Hit send, and you're set.
As is the case with all WhatsApp communications, Live Location is end-to-end encrypted, so only those in a chat can see it. If multiple people are sharing where they're at, each person's location will be visible on one map.
Facebook Messenger also has a Live Location feature, which lets users share their location with friends for up to 60 minutes.