Skip to main content

F1 live stream 2022: how to watch every race online from anywhere

Verstappen has the title in his sights

Red Bull's Dutch driver Max Verstappen drives during the third day of Formula One (F1) pre-season testing
(Image: © Getty Images / GIUSEPPE CACACE)

After a run of three mid-pack starts metamorphosing into wins for Verstappen, Singapore presents the Dutchman's first chance to seal the deal – albeit a slim one. If he wins, and Leclerc scores no points, the Bed Bull driver will secure his second championship in as many years. Will the angular streets of Marina Bay be kind? Here's how to watch a 2022 F1 live stream no matter where you are in the world – and how you can watch a FREE F1 live stream with a VPN.

F1 live stream 2022

Season dates: March 20 - November 20

Next race: Singapore GP, Marina Bay Street Circuit

FREE live stream: Servus TV (opens in new tab) / ORF Eins (opens in new tab) (race only)

Global live stream: F1 TV FREE trial (selected regions) (opens in new tab)

Watch anywhere: try ExpressVPN 100% risk-free (opens in new tab)

US live stream: Sling TV (opens in new tab)

We've thoroughly settled into the swing of things this season, and 2022's vehicle changes have favored some and not others. Red Bull's Max Verstappen and Sergio Perez are both proving strong, and early-season standouts Ferrari have had strategic and reliability issues.

In the Mercedes camp, Sir Lewis Hamilton and George Russell are finally finding pace in their flawed machines, while McLaren's Lando Norris is regularly outperforming veteran teammate Daniel Ricciardo.

Rookie Guanyu Zhou is showing real promise alongside Valtteri Bottas at Alfa Romeo, while Alpine's Fernando Alonso and Esteban Ocon are performing well in the mid-pack. 

A raft of regulation changes have challenged teams, larger 18-inch tyres have proved to be more reliable, and cars have been equipped with longer noses for safety. Now we're well into the season we're seeing teams get to grips with the rule changes – but not without some fireworks along the way.

With at least 22 races planned, follow our guide as we explain how to get a 2022 F1 live stream from anywhere.

Italian Grand Prix schedule (September 9/10/11)

  • Practice 1: 1pm BST / 2pm CEST / 5am PDT / 8am ET / 10pm AEST / 1am NZST
  • Practice 2: 4pm BST / 5pm CEST / 8am PDT / 11am ET / 1am AEST / 3am NZST
  • Practice 3: 12pm BST / 1pm CEST / 4am PDT / 7am ET / 9pm AEST / 11pm NZST
  • Qualifying: 3pm BST / 4pm CEST / 7am PDT / 1am ET / 12am AEST / 2am NZST
  • Italian GP: 2pm BST / 3pm CEST / 6am PDT / 9am ET / 11pm AEST / 1am NZST

Where to watch FREE F1 live streams in 2022

Formula 1 is such a popular sport worldwide that's it's of little surprise that TV companies put a premium on F1 coverage. 

But there are some countries where the F1 is still shown on free TV. That may be the odd race or, for some lucky Grand Prix fans, every single one:

Albania: every race on RTSH

Australia: Australian GP on Channel 9

Austria: every race on ORF Eins and Servus TV

How to watch F1 live streams from outside your country

We've recommended some of the best places to live stream 2022 F1 races below. But you might run into a problem trying to access them if you're outside of your country. This is because of something called geo-blocking.

Simply follow our VPN advice below and you'll soon be around that issue with a great bit of software that allows you to relocate your device back to your country of residence - thereby regaining access to all the streaming services and content you normally enjoy at home.

Use a VPN to live stream F1 2022 from anywhere

(opens in new tab)

ExpressVPN - get the world's best VPN (opens in new tab)
We've put all the major VPNs through their paces and we rate ExpressVPN as our top pick. It's fast, secure and easy to use. It's also compatible with most streaming devices including Amazon Fire TV Stick, Apple TV, Xbox and PlayStation, as well as Android and Apple mobiles. Give it a try. If you change your mind, ExpressVPN offers a full refund within 30 days.

Get 3 months FREE of ExpressVPN with TechRadar (opens in new tab)

Watch on F1 TV (selected regions)

(opens in new tab)

If you're an F1 devotee, then you likely already know about F1 TV - it's the streaming service to subscribe to for all the best live action, highlights, replays of classics races and a whole lot more besides.

Most people will want to go for F1 TV Pro, which is the way to live stream every F1 Grand Prix in full - along with F2, F3 and Porsche Supercup as well. Prices differ from country to country - it's $9.99 per month or $79.99 per year in the US, for example - and in some places you can get a FREE 7-day trial (opens in new tab)!

Just note that F1 TV doesn't provide live Grand Prix coverage everywhere, with the UK and Australia the notable examples.


uk flag

How to watch an F1 live stream in the UK

(opens in new tab)

Sky Sports (opens in new tab) is showing every 2022 F1 GP live on its dedicated Sky Sports F1 channel in 4K UHD.

Subscribers also get to watch on the move using the Sky Go app, which is available on nearly all modern phones, tablets, laptops, PCs and consoles.

For those without Sky, a better option may be to pick up a Now Sports Membership, which includes all 11 channels but on a more flexible basis.

One race, the British GP on July 3, is also being shown for FREE on Channel 4. You can also watch it online via the All4 (opens in new tab) streaming service.

Outside the UK? To access your preferred streaming service from abroad, you'll need to download a good VPN (opens in new tab), as detailed below.

usa flag

How to watch F1: live stream Formula 1 racing in the US

(opens in new tab)

ESPN (opens in new tab) is providing comprehensive coverage of the 2022 F1 season in the US. Cord-cutters are in luck, too, as you can get ESPN without having an expensive cable package. 

The United States GP (October 23) and the Mexico City GP (October 30) are also being shown on ABC.

Watch 2022 F1 without cable

ESPN is included in the cable-cutting streamer Sling TV (opens in new tab)'s Orange package. Better still, you can currently save a tasty $10 on your first month – dropping the price to just $25 (opens in new tab).

Sling TV costs $35 a month thereafter and includes 30+ other channels. And as there's no contract, you can cancel whenever you fancy.

Alternatively, fuboTV (opens in new tab) is an even more complete end-to-end cable replacement services, which offers ESPN, ABC and over 120 other channels on plans starting from $64.99 a month after a 7-day FREE fuboTV trial (opens in new tab).

canada flag

Live stream F1 and watch Grand Prix racing in Canada

(opens in new tab)

In Canada, you can watch 2022 F1 races on English-language TSN or French-language RDS - but they're premium channels that typically come with a pay TV package.

If you get them as part of your cable deal, you'll be able to log in with the details of your provider for access to an F1 live stream. 

If you don't have cable, you can subscribe to TSN or RDS on a streaming-only basis from just CA$7.99 a day or (much better value) $19.99 a month.

If you decide to subscribe or already have, remember you can take your favorite sports streaming service with you wherever you go - just try our No. 1 overall rated VPN 100% risk-free for 30-days (opens in new tab) and follow the instructions above.

australia flag

How to watch F1: live stream for FREE in Australia

(opens in new tab)

Motorsport fans in Australia can watch every race of the 2022 F1 season on Fox Sports and via Foxtel (opens in new tab)

If you don't have Fox as part of a pay TV package, your best option is to sign up for the excellent Kayo Sports (opens in new tab) streaming service. 

It features no lock-in contracts from $25 a month and gives you access to over 50 other sports including the NRL, soccer, F1, NFL... the list goes on! Handy if you don't want to go all-out on Fox.

Better still, Kayo offers a FREE two-week trial (opens in new tab)!

Don't forget, you can take your F1 coverage abroad with you as well. For those wanting to watch home coverage of sports from overseas, a good VPN (opens in new tab) is the solution.

new zealand flag

How to watch F1 online: live stream in New Zealand

(opens in new tab)

Kiwis can live stream every race of the 2022 F1 season on Spark Sport. 

Spark Sport also offers a 7-day free trial so you can tune in to at least one GP without paying a thing. 

Once that free trial's expired, a subscription costs $24.99 per month, with Spark also covering Black Caps and England cricket games, EPL football, NBA basketball from the US, and MotoGP racing.

Spark Sport is available via web browsers on your PC or Mac, plus Apple and Android mobile devices, Chromecast, Apple TV, selected Samsung, Sony, Panasonic and LG TVs, and select Freeview streamers.

2022 F1 race calendar and dates

  • Mar 20 - Bahrain GP – Won by Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)
  • Mar 27 - Saudi Arabian GP – Won by Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
  • Apr 10 - Australian GP – Won by Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)
  • Apr 24 - Emilia Romagna GP – Won by Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
  • May 8 - Miami GP – Won by Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
  • May 22 - Spanish GP – Won by Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
  • May 29 - Monaco GP – Won by Sergio Perez (Red Bull)
  • Jun 12 - Azerbaijan GP – Won by Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
  • Jun 19 - Canadian GP – Won by Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
  • Jul 3 - British GP – Won by Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)
  • Jun 10 - Austrian GP – Won by Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)
  • Jul 24 - French GP – Won by Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
  • Jul 31 - Hungarian GP – Won by Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
  • Aug 28 - Belgian GP – Won by Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
  • Sep 4 - Dutch GP – Won by Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
  • Sep 11 - Italian GP
  • Oct 2 - Singapore GP
  • Oct 9 - Japanese GP
  • Oct 23 - United States GP
  • Oct 30 - Mexico City GP
  • Nov 13 - São Paulo GP
  • Nov 20 - Abu Dhabi GP

2022 F1 teams and drivers

Red Bull

  • Max Verstappen
  • Sergio Pérez

Mercedes

  • Lewis Hamilton
  • George Russell

Ferrari

  • Charles Leclerc
  • Carlos Sainz

McLaren

  • Lando Norris
  • Daniel Ricciardo

Alpine

  • Fernando Alonso
  • Esteban Ocon

AlphaTauri

  • Pierre Gasly
  • Yuki Tsunoda

Aston Martin

  • Sebastian Vettel
  • Lance Stroll

Williams

  • Alex Albon
  • Nicholas Latifi

Alfa-Romeo

  • Valtteri Bottas
  • Guanyu Zhou

Haas

  • Kevin Magnussen
  • Mick Schumacher

2022 F1 Sprint races

F1 Sprint races received a lukewarm reception when they were introduced during the 2021 season, and the FIA has tweaked the format in an effort to make it more competitive.

The top eight finishers will win points, rather than just the top three, with the driver finishing in first place winning 8 points, and the driver finishing in eighth place winning one.

The sprint race finishing order will still determine the grid for the Grand Prix, but in an almost certainly futile bid to appease traditionalists, the driver who sets the fastest time in Q3 will be credited as the official polesitter.

Sprint races will be held at the Emilia Romagna, Austrian and São Paulo Grands Prix this season.

2022 F1 car changes

The 2022 regulations have transformed the cars on the grid, with many of the tweaks designed to make it easier to follow close behind - and hopefully overtake - leading cars.

Wheel covers and over-wheel winglets, and redesigned front and rear wings will help to generate less "dirty air" for trailing cars to pass through.

Dirty air significantly reduces downforce and aerodynamic performance, and is arguably the key obstacle that has made overtaking so difficult over recent years.

The cars will also use 18-inch tyres, up from 13 inches, with the hope being that the larger surface area will reduce overheating issues.

The noses of the cars have also been lengthened, in order to absorb more of the impact during crashes, which has also contributed to a roughly 40kg weight increase.

The bio-component of the fuel used in F1 has also been increased to 10% from 5.57%, with a view to the sport moving to fully sustainable fuel in the next few years.

Arguably the biggest change, though, is reintroduction of Ground Effect, last used in the 80s. This 40-year-old tech effectively sucks the vehicle to the track, creating more downforce without as much dirty air. However, it can also produce the characteristic issue of 'porpoising', which bounces the car up and down rapidly – can any or all teams combat this effectively?

Aatif is a freelance copywriter and journalist based in the UK. He’s written about technology, science and politics for publications including Gizmodo, The Independent, Trusted Reviews and Newsweek, but focuses on streaming at Future, an arrangement that combines two of his greatest passions: sport and penny-pinching.

With contributions from