The 2017 Glomo Awards are now open for entry!

The GSMA has announced that the 2017 Global Mobile Awards (Glomo Awards) are now open for entry. With 39 awards over eight categories, the Glomo Awards celebrate the greatest achievements and innovations across the mobile industry.

Entries for the 2017 awards will be accepted through Wednesday, 23 November 2016, with the winners announced at the GSMA Mobile World Congress 2017 in Barcelona. 

“Mobile connectivity is fundamental in our everyday lives and has transformed the way we live, work, access essential services and communicate,” said Michael O’Hara, Chief Marketing Officer, GSMA.

“The Glomo Awards provide a global platform to showcase the most significant, dynamic and revolutionary innovations that are shaping the future of the mobile industry. We look forward to a wide range of exciting entries for 2017.”

The 2017 Glomo Awards will be presented in the following categories:

  • The Connected Life Awards
  • Best Mobile Services
  • Social and Economic Development
  • Best Mobile Apps
  • Best Mobile Handsets and Devices
  • Best Mobile Technology
  • Government Excellence Award
  • Outstanding Achievement

For 2017, the GSMA has introduced seven new awards that highlight the latest technologies, products and services impacting the mobile industry. The Glomo Awards feature three new awards in the Best Mobile Apps category.

The first, the Best Mobile App for the Connected Lifestyle award, will focus on apps that make users’ lives more efficient, enjoyable, safer and smarter across a range of key lifestyle sectors. A second new award, for Best Mobile App for Virtual or Augmented Reality, will shine a light on the best implementation of advanced digital technologies such as virtual reality and augmented reality. 

The final new addition to this category, the Best Mobile App for Business award, will recognise the development of mobile apps that help small, medium or large corporations and enterprise users.

The Best Mobile Technology category has also been enhanced with two new awards including Outstanding Contribution for LTE Evolution to 5G, an award that recognises the pioneers who are driving the transition from the well-established high-speed mobile broadband services of today to the networks of the future. The second addition to this category is the Best IoT Innovation for Mobile Networks award, which will identify new and creative IoT solutions that provide connectivity and services that could not be previously achieved, in either emerging markets or advanced economies.

The Glomo Awards will also celebrate the best examples of mobile connectivity that support the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). The SDGs provide a 17-point plan to end poverty, combat climate change and fight injustice and inequality, and represent the global community’s most significant undertaking to make the world a better place.

The mobile industry has the power to help accelerate this journey, and the Outstanding Mobile Contribution to the UN SDGs award will demonstrate real mobile innovations that contribute to any one or several of the challenges set out in the SDGs. 

The final new award, for Best Use of Mobile for Smart Cities, will recognise transformative and ground-breaking contributions to the evolution of smart cities via the use of mobile technology and connectivity. This award will identify organisations that address specific urban challenges, providing services or cost-efficient solutions for the city or improving the quality of life for citizens and visitors in a tangible and sustainable way. 

As always, the Glomo Awards also include the coveted Government Leadership Award which aims to recognise world-class government leadership, and the Outstanding Achievement category which includes the award for Outstanding Contribution to the Mobile Industry and the Women4Technology – Industry Leadership Award.

Information for Entering the Glomo Awards

The Glomo Awards 2017 are open to companies across the entire mobile ecosystem and may be entered online; a full list of categories, award criteria and deadlines can be found at

The awards will be judged by independent experts, analysts, journalists, academics and, in some cases, mobile operator representatives. The winner of the Outstanding Overall Mobile Technology – the CTOs’ Choice award will be selected by a panel of industry-leading CTOs from the worldwide operator community. 

Select awards will be nominated by judges or by an independent panel of experts and will not be open for online entry. The submission of video to support entries is strongly encouraged by the awards judges. Entries for the Glomo Awards close on Wednesday, 23 November 2016 and the GSMA will announce the shortlist of nominations for each category by late January 2017.

For further information on the Glomo Awards 2017, including sponsorship opportunities, please visit Mobile World Congress 2017 will be held 27 February – 2 March at Fira Gran Via in Barcelona. For more information, please visit