BAFTA winners 2020: the full list, from 1917 to Joker

(Image credit: Warner Bros.)
Audio player loading…

The winners of the 2020 BAFTAs have been revealed, with Sam Mendes' Great War movie 1917 taking Best Film, Outstanding British Film and Best Director. That puts it in a strong position to win Best Picture at the Oscars next Sunday.  

In total, 1917 won seven BAFTAs, while Joker grabbed three, a strong result for any movie that's (vaguely) based on a comic book character. Joaquin Phoenix won Best Actor, as he did at the Golden Globes. It bodes well for his Oscar chances, then. 

Parasite, meanwhile, which still hasn't even been released in the UK where the awards took place, won two, for Original Screenplay and film not in the English language. If you're in the UK, you can finally watch this class-focused thriller this coming Friday. 

There was nothing for Netflix's The Irishman, but Laura Dern won best supporting actress for her role as a tough divorce lawyer in the streaming service's Marriage Story. 

Roger Deakins, the legendary cinematographer who's previously won four BAFTAs, picked up Best Cinematography for his extraordinary work on 1917. That movie, in case you haven't seen it yet, is presented as two single, continuous shots, which gives its war-torn setting an unbeatable sense of place. Filming it must've been super tiring, so good for him. 

The Oscars take place on February 9. 

BAFTA winners 2020: the complete list

Best Film

  • 1917 - WINNER
  • The Irishman
  • Joker
  • Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
  • Parasite

Outstanding British Film

  • 1917 - WINNER
  • Bait
  • For Sama
  • Rocketman
  • Sorry We Missed You
  • The Two Popes

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer

  • Bait, Mark Jenkin (Writer/director), Kate Byers, Linn Waite (Producers) - WINNER
  • For Sama, Waad Al-kateab (Director/producer), Edward Watts (Director)
  • Maiden, Alex Holmes (Director)
  • Only You, Harry Wootliff (Writer/director)
  • Retablo, Álvaro Delgado-Aparicio (Writer/director)

Film Not in the English Language

  • The Farewell
  • For Sama
  • Pain and Glory
  • Parasite - WINNER 
  • Portrait of a Lady on Fire


  • American Factory 
  • Apollo 11 
  • Diego Maradona 
  • For Sama - WINNER
  • The Great Hack

Animated Film

  • Frozen 2 
  • Klaus - WINNER 
  • A Shaun The Sheep Movie: Farmageddon 
  • Toy Story 4

Best Director

  • Sam Mendes – 1917 - WINNER
  • Martin Scorsese – The Irishman
  • Todd Phillips – Joker
  • Quentin Tarantino – Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
  • Bong Joon-ho – Parasite

Best Original Screenplay

  • Booksmart (Susanna Fogel, Emily Halpern, Sarah Haskins, Katie Silberman)
  • Knives Out (Rian Johnson)
  • Marriage Story (Noah Baumbach)
  • Once Upon a Time in Hollywood (Quentin Tarantino)
  • Parasite (Han Jin Won, Bong Joon-ho) - WINNER

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • The Irishman (Steven Zaillian)
  • Jojo Rabbit (Taika Waititi) - WINNER
  • Joker (Todd Phillips, Scott Silver)
  • Little Women (Greta Gerwig)
  • The Two Popes (Anthony McCarten)

Best Leading Actress

  • Jessie Buckley – Wild Rose
  • Scarlett Johansson – Marriage Story
  • Saoirse Ronan – Little Women
  • Charlize Theron – Bombshell
  • Renée Zellweger – Judy - WINNER

Best Leading Actor

  • Leonardo DiCaprio – Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
  • Adam Driver – Marriage Story
  • Taron Egerton – Rocketman
  • Joaquin Phoenix – Joker - WINNER
  • Jonathan Pryce – The Two Popes

Best Supporting Actress

  • Laura Dern – Marriage Story - WINNER
  • Scarlett Johansson – Jojo Rabbit
  • Florence Pugh – Little Women
  • Margot Robbie – Bombshell
  • Margot Robbie – Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Best Supporting Actor

  • Tom Hanks – A Beautiful Day In The Neighborhood
  • Anthony Hopkins – The Two Popes
  • Al Pacino – The Irishman
  • Joe Pesci – The Irishman
  • Brad Pitt – Once Upon a Time in Hollywood - WINNER

Best Original Score

  • 1917 – Thomas Newman
  • Jojo Rabbit – Michael Giacchino
  • Joker – Hildur Guđnadóttir - WINNER
  • Little Women – Alexandre Desplat
  • Star Wars: The Rise Of Skywalker – John Williams


  • Joker – Shayna Markowitz - WINNER
  • Marriage Story – Douglas Aibel, Francine Maisler
  • Once Upon a Time in Hollywood – Victoria Thomas
  • The Personal History Of David Copperfield – Sarah Crowe
  • The Two Popes – Nina Gold


  • 1917 – Roger Deakins - WINNER
  • The Irishman – Rodrigo Prieto
  • Joker – Lawrence Sher
  • Le Mans ’66 – Phedon Papamichael
  • The Lighthouse – Jarin Blaschke


  • The Irishman – Thelma Schoonmaker
  • Jojo Rabbit – Tom Eagles
  • Joker – Jeff Groth
  • Le Mans ’66 – Andrew Buckland, Michael Mccusker - WINNER
  • Once Upon a Time in Hollywood – Fred Raskin

Production Design

  • 1917 – Dennis Gassner, Lee Sandales - WINNER
  • The Irishman – Bob Shaw, Regina Graves
  • Jojo Rabbit – Ra Vincent, Nora Sopková
  • Joker – Mark Friedberg, Kris Moran
  • Once Upon a Time in Hollywood – Barbara Ling, Nancy Haigh

Costume Design

  • The Irishman – Christopher Peterson, Sandy Powell
  • Jojo Rabbit – Mayes C. Rubeo
  • Judy – Jany Temime
  • Little Women – Jacqueline Durran - WINNER
  • Once Upon a Time in Hollywood – Arianne Phillips

Makeup & Hair

  • 1917 – Naomi Donne
  • Bombshell – Vivian Baker, Kazu Hiro, Anne Morgan - WINNER
  • Joker – Kay Georgiou, Nicki Ledermann
  • Judy – Jeremy Woodhead
  • Rocketman – Lizzie Yianni Georgiou


  • 1917 – Scott Millan, Oliver Tarney, Rachael Tate, Mark Taylor, Stuart Wilson - WINNER
  • Joker – Tod Maitland, Alan Robert Murray, Tom Ozanich, Dean Zupancic
  • Le Mans ’66 – David Giammarco, Paul Massey, Steven A. Morrow, Donald Sylvester
  • Rocketman – Matthew Collinge, John Hayes, Mike Prestwood Smith, Danny Sheehan
  • Star Wars: The Rise Of Skywalker – David Acord, Andy Nelson, Christopher Scarabosio, Stuart Wilson, Matthew Wood

Special Visual Effects

  • 1917 – Greg Butler, Guillaume Rocheron, Dominic Tuohy - WINNER
  • Avengers: Endgame – Dan Deleeuw, Dan Sudick
  • The Irishman – Leandro Estebecorena, Stephane Grabli, Pablo Helman
  • The Lion King – Andrew R. Jones, Robert Legato, Elliot Newman, Adam Valdez
  • Star Wars: The Rise Of Skywalker – Roger Guyett, Paul Kavanagh, Neal Scanlan, Dominic Tuohy

British Short Animation

  • Grandad Was A Romantic - WINNER
  • The Magic Boat
  • In Her Boots

British Short Film

  • Azaar 
  • Goldfish 
  • Kamali 
  • Learning To Skateboard In A Warzone (If You’re A Girl) - WINNER
  • The Trap 

EE Rising Star Award (public vote)

  • Awkwafina
  • Jack Lowden
  • Kaitlyn Dever
  • Kelvin Harrison Jr.
  • Micheal Ward

BAFTA Fellowship

Kathleen Kennedy

Samuel Roberts

Samuel is a PR Manager at game developer Frontier. Formerly TechRadar's Senior Entertainment Editor, he's an expert in Marvel, Star Wars, Netflix shows and general streaming stuff. Before his stint at TechRadar, he spent six years at PC Gamer. Samuel is also the co-host of the popular Back Page podcast, in which he details the trials and tribulations of being a games magazine editor – and attempts to justify his impulsive eBay games buying binges.