Don't expect a huge amount of Xbox One chatter during Build 2013

Not the star of this dev show

Microsoft's Build 2013 developer conference is right around the corner, with the first keynote kicking off at 9 a.m. PT/12 p.m. ET/5 p.m. BST Wednesday. While we'll hear plenty on Windows 8.1, there's one area Microsoft won't shine a big spotlight on.

The company told us today that its main Xbox One focus came during its May 21 reveal and E3, with additional information due at a later time. There won't be any Xbox team members available at the conference, we were informed.

This doesn't mean that Microsoft won't talk about its latest console (how could it not?), just that we shouldn't expect it to get top billing at this dev show.

The company plans to discuss its new Kinect for Windows during Build, and developers could be in for some SmartGlass information as well. Of course, the company will have plenty of messaging on the cross-platform potential of its various system seeds, and Xbox should be a part of that conversation. Just not a standout like we saw a short time ago.

More blips!

The best news is biting, so how about bite-sized news? Check out our blips to see what we mean.



News Editor (US)

As the US News Editor, Michelle (Twitter, Google+) keeps her eye on all things tech with particular interest on phones, tablets and finding out who the people are behind the devices. Any phone that can survive a regular (accidental) drop has her vote for best handset. Michelle previously worked covering local news in the Bay Area and has been with TechRadar since July 2012.