Sony announces monster PlayStation State of Play this week covering 15 plus games

A screenshot from Rise of the Ronin.
(Image credit: Sony Interactive Entertainment)

Sony has confirmed that a new PlayStation State of Play event is taking place on Wednesday, January 31, and it’s going to be a chunky one.

The first State of Play of the year is set to be 40 minutes long, and in that time, “15+ games” will be covered, so fasten your seatbelts, because it sounds like it’s going to be quite a ride. 

While Sony hasn’t given away many of the specifics in advance, it revealed that “extended looks” at Shift Up’s action-adventure Stellar Blade and Team Ninja’s gorgeous role-playing game Rise of the Ronin (both PlayStation 5-exclusive games) will be shown. At the time of writing, Stellar Blade doesn’t currently have a confirmed release window, whereas Rise of the Ronin is set to launch on March 22. 

See more

Given that we don't know much of what will be shown, it’ll be particularly interesting to see what Sony has in store for us. A fresh PlayStation Blog post states that viewers will be given “a new look at other titles coming to PS5 and PS VR2 in 2024 and beyond.” Needless to say, it doesn’t sound like everything that’ll be included will definitely be coming out this year, so keep that in mind in the build-up to the event. 

Viewers will be able to tune in to the State of Play on Twitch, TikTok or YouTube starting at 5pm ET / 2pm PT / 10pm GMT on January 31, which is the equivalent of February 1 at 9am AEDT. Be sure to set a reminder so that you don’t miss out on the news and announcements as they happen. 

If you’re looking for some fantastic games to play in the meantime, be sure to check out our recommendations for the best PS5 games, as well as our roundup of the best PlayStation Portal games for the greatest titles to play on Sony’s handheld remote play device.

Catherine Lewis
News Writer, TechRadar Gaming

Catherine is a News Writer for TechRadar Gaming. Armed with a journalism degree from The University of Sheffield, she was sucked into the games media industry after spending far too much time on her university newspaper writing about Pokémon and cool indie games, and realising that was a very cool job, actually. She previously spent 19 months working at GAMINGbible as a full-time journalist. She loves all things Nintendo, and will never stop talking about Xenoblade Chronicles.