Mobile Industry Awards 2022: Vodafone's Haseeb Kamran wins Shop Idol Retail 2022

MIA 2022 Shop Idol contact centre
(Image credit: Future)

Haseeb Kamran has been crowned the winner of Shop Idol - Contact Centre 2022, supported by Samsung Backstage, at the Mobile Industry Awards 2022.

Haseeb beat competition from hundreds of entrants from all of the major retailers in the UK to be named the country’s best mobile phone salesperson.

He received his award at the MIA 2022 ceremony in London from David Thompson, Head of Training at Samsung.

Shop Idol 2022

Our annual search for the UK’s best mobile phone salesperson was a little different this year after spliting into two fields - one for Retail, and one for Contact Centres.

After a lengthy search, our judges whittled down the biggest ever Shop Idol entry list to our finalists.

Each year, hundreds of entrants from every major retailer take part in the biggest contest of its kind, facing our esteemed panel of judges to win the top prize. This year, over 50 hours of judging grilled our candidats with interviews, challenges to determine product knowledge, customer service skills and of course, sales power!

Thanks to our partner Samsung Backstage, a selection of amazing prizes were awarded to our 12 finalists, with the top six each receiving a Samsung S22, as well as being invited to the Mobile Industry Awards 2022 with all travel and accommodation expenses paid.

The two winners of the 2022 Shop Idol competition also received a huge Samsung tech bundle worth over £2,500.

Congratulations to Haseeb and to all our 2022 Shop Idol finalists!

Our 2022 Shop Idol Retail finalists:

  • Ben Elliott, BT
  • Catherine Rose, Capita
  • David Reynolds, BT/EE
  • Haseeb Kamran, Vodafone
  • Sian Jones, EE/BT

Previous Shop Idol winners

  • 2021: Elise Howard, EE
  • 2020: Cassie Kirkham, EE
  • 2019: Gavin Mooney, O2
  • 2018: Joshua Higgins, Carphone Warehouse
  • 2017: Stuart Bonner, Carphone Warehouse
  • 2016:  Aaron Robinson, Tesco Mobile
  • 2015: Claire Pulpher, Carphone Warehouse
  • 2014: John Sherwood, Digital Phone Company
  • 2013: Martin Haig, Carphone Warehouse
  • 2012: Nicola Black, Phones 4u 
  • 2011: Chris Bowden, EE