Power 50 2020: First ten nominees revealed

(Image credit: Future)

After months of research and nominations we are delighted to confirm the first ten members of the 2020 Power 50

As part of the Mobile Industry Awards 2020 digital awards week, we are counting down the 50 most important and influential figures in the UK mobile industry during the past year. 

Every single person in this list has imbued their organisation with their values and serve as an inspiration to the rest of the mobile trade. Their influence is such that it goes beyond their existing roles. 

We will be revealing ten nominees every day this week, was we count down to the reveal of our 2020 Person of the Year award on Friday September 25.

(Image credit: Future)

Congratulations to:

41.   Christian McBride, Founder, Genuine Solutions Group

42.   Steve Oliver, CEO, musicMagpie

43.   Richard Baxendale, Chief Business Development Officer, Brightstar

44.   Terry O'Brien, Wholesale CEO, Digital Wholesale Solutions

45.   Ben Dowd, CEO, Onecom

46.   Miles Norman, General Manager UK & Ireland, Lenovo

47.   Dave McGinn, CEO, Daisy Communications

48.   Jason Smith, Head of Mobile Business unit, UK and Ireland, Sony Europe

49.   Peter Carnall, Managing Director, Eurostar Global Distribution

50.   Martin Flick, CEO, Olive

  • To find out more about these high calibre executives, and the rest of the Power 50 list, click here 

The 2020 Power 50 is the definitive list of the most influential figures in the UK mobile industry during the past year. The list has been compiled after in-depth interviews with key senior figures across the industry, from operators and retailers, to manufacturers and distributors.

Previous winners of the Power 50 Person of the Year: 

  • 2019: Marc Allera, CEO, EE and BT Consumer
  • 2018: Marc Allera, CEO, EE and BT Consumer
  • 2017: David Dyson, CEO Three UK
  • 2016: Sebastian James, Group CEO, Dixons Carphone
  • 2015: Sebastian James, Group CEO, Dixons Carphone
  • 2014: Andrew Harrison, CEO, Carphone Warehouse
  • 2013: Olaf Swantee, CEO, EE
  • 2012: Simon Stanford, VP of UK & Ireland telecommunications and networks division, Samsung UK
  • 2011: Guy Laurence, CEO, Vodafone UK
  • 2010: Tom Alexander, CEO, Everything Everywhere
  • 2009: Andrew Harrison, CEO, Carphone Warehouse
  • 2008: Kevin Russell, CEO, Three UK

(Image credit: Future)

SAVE THE DATE! Running for more than a decade, the Mobile Industry Awards represent the gold standard of excellence in the industry. From the boardroom to the grassroots, the entrants represent the best and brightest the UK and European mobile industry has to offer. For its 19th year we're celebrating the best Manufacturers, Retailers, Networks, Distributors and Dealers on June 24 2021.

TO PARTNER: hazel.eccles@futurenet.com
FOR CATEGORIES & CRITERIA: charlie.southwood@futurenet.com